FSC Launches a National Forest Stewardship Standard for Nepal

iStock.com / YouraPechkin
Fallen wooden logs stacked atop each other
iStock.com / YouraPechkin
January 28, 2020
Category : Standards

The National Forest Stewardship Standard for Nepal will become effective on 30 March 2020.

Nepal now has a national standard. A chamber-balanced standard development group coordinated by Asia Network for Sustainable Agriculture and Bioresources (ANSAB) – a non-governmental organization committed to biodiversity conservation and livelihood improvement in South Asia – developed the standard. It used a multi-stakeholder process that included two public consultations. The standard was also field tested in different types of forests and two different geographical regions.

This standard is applicable to all forest operations seeking FSC certification within Nepal. It is relevant to all forest types – including plantations and natural forests – to all forest management regimes, and geographic areas of Nepal.

The Nepalese national forest stewardship standard (English version) can be consulted in the FSC Document Center. Please check the FSC Asia Pacific blog and the ANSAB website for more information.

Please contact the Executive Director of ANSAB Nepal, Dr. Bhishma P. Subedi, by email bhishmasubedi@ansab.org.np for any queries regarding the new standard.