Project title

FSC Regional Forest Stewardship Standard for Smallholders

Code

TBD

Type

Standard

Project Coordinator

Loy Jones; l.jones@fsc.org

Technical Writer

Keith Moore; mrm@haidagwaii.ca

Project Supervisor

Vera Santos; v.santos@fsc.org

Start date

May 2018

End date

January 2020

Organizational process assets
Purpose of the document

Develop a regional smallholder standard to:

  1. Focus only on smallholder operations and write the indicators in more simple language;
  2. Address concerns expressed by stakeholders, certificate holders and certification bodies;
  3. Consider the inclusion of new mechanisms to improve smallholder certification access and cost;
  4. Cover four critical countries in the Asia Pacific Region; India, Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam.
Strategic alignment

At the 2017 General Assembly in Vancouver, Canada, the membership approved Motion 46 with a focus on developing new solutions, including new ideas not currently contemplated in the FSC normative framework and system.

Technical advisory group

Name

Expertise

Email address

Michael Brady

Joko Sarjito

Untung Karnonto

Thesis Budiarto

Piyathip Eawpanich

Chittiwat Silapat

Prasnee Tipraqsa

Dung Tri Ngo

Bui Chinh Nghia

Nguyen Vu

Suneel Pandey

Prodyut Bhattacharya

Krishna Kumar Singh

Non-Voting Chair

Indonesia – Env.

Indonesia – Soc.

Indonesia – Econ.

Thailand – Env.

Thailand – Econ.

Thailand – Soc.

Vietnam – Env.

Vietnam – Econ.

Vietnam – Env.

India – Econ.

India – Env.

India – Soc.

mbrady1@ifc.org

jsarjito@wwf.id

untungka67@gmail.com

TBudiarto@scsglobalservices.com

piyathip.gtzbkk@gmail.com

csilapat@gmail.com

prasnee.tipraqsa@recoftc.org

dzungtringo@gmail.com

nghia.tcln@gmail.com

vu.nguyen@wwf.panda.org

Suneel.Pandey@ITC.IN

prodyutbhattacharya@yahoo.com

kkchurhat@outlook.com

 

Timeline

11 Nov 2018
First Technical Advisory Group meeting to discuss Draft 0
07 Nov 2018
Terms of Reference (ToR) for the technical working group approved.
15 Sept - 15 Nov 2018
Open call for stakeholders to join Consultative Forum for developing FSC Regional Forest Stewardship Standard for Smallholders for India, Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam.

Contact Loy Jones to join the Consultative Forum.

01 Aug - 09 Oct 2018
Set up Technical Advisory Group.

See members in Overview Table on this page.

30 August 2018
Begin work on Draft 0