Project title

FSC Policy on Conversion

Type

Policy

Coordinator

Yan Li; y.li@fsc.org

Project Supervisor

Maria Pilar Melero; m.melero@fsc.org 

Technical coordinator

Pasi Miettinen; p.miettinen@fsc.org 

Start date

May 2018

End date

June 2020

Purpose of the document

Develop a high-level conversion policy considering compensation for past conversion, in terms of:
a. restoration and/or conservation for environmental values: and
b. restitution for socio-economic values.

Strategic alignment

At the General Assembly 2017 in Vancouver, Canada the membership approved Motion 7 recognizing the strategic importance of addressing the issues around conversion of natural forest-related ecosystems to plantations and the need for alignment of the diverse ways in which conversion is treated in different parts of the FSC normative framework.

Working group

Name - Sub Chamber- Email Address
Marthe Tollenaar- Economic North- mtollenaar@newforests.com.au
Francisco Javier Rodriguez Aspillaga - Economic South 
francisco.rodriguez@cmpc.cl
Annika Terrana – Environmental North- annika.terrana@wwfus.org
Michal Zrust- Environmental South- michal.zrust@daemeter.org
Dr. Marcus Colchester – Social North - marcus@forestpeoples.org
Dharam Pal Singh, Verma- Social South- dpsverma@gmail.com

Timeline

Ongoing
Join the Consultative Forum
14 January 2019 to 5 February 2020
17 December 2019 to 16 February 2020
Public consultation for the second draft of the FSC Policy on Conversion

Open the consultation here.

5 November 2019
Composition of the Technical Working Group is announced

Read the news item here.

14, 20 August, 17 September 2019
1st August to 30 September 2019
Public consultation for the first draft of the FSC Policy on Conversion
25 to 28 June 2019
Third meeting of the Working Group in Bonn (Germany)
19 to 22 February 2019
Second meeting of the Working Group in Bonn (Germany)
2 to 5 October 2018
First meeting of the Working Group in Bonn (Germany)
28 August 2018
Composition of the Working Group is announced
05 to 26 June 2018 (Extended until 18 July)
Open call for FSC members to join Working Group for developing FSC Policy on Conversion
05 June 2018
Terms of Reference (ToR) for the Working Group approved by the Steering Committee

Documents

[ES] TOR WG_Policy on Conversion amended
PDF, Size: 0.99MB

Webinar

Date

Time 

Registration*

Webinar 1

English: 14 January 2020

9:00 – 10:00 AM CET

Register for Webinar 1

Webinar 2

English: 14 Jan 2020

16:00 – 17:00 PM CET

Register for Webinar 2 

Webinar 3

English: 5 Feb 2020

09:00 – 10:00 AM CET

Register for Webinar 3*

Webinar 4

Spanish: 5 Feb 2020

16:00 – 17:00 PM CET

Register for Webinar 4*